The Facts of Life

The Facts of Life
The Facts of Life began in August of 1979 and aired on NBC. It was a spin-off to the sitcom Diff'rent Strokes on which Charlotte Rae played Mrs. Garrett, housekeeper to Philip Drummond's household. In The Facts of Life , Mrs. Garrett has become headmistress to an exclusive girls school, Eastland. Although the series had a rocky start, including low ratings and a cast overhaul. The series went on to becomes one of the longest running sitcoms of the 80's. In the first season the stories revolved around Mrs. Garrett and her adjustment to her new job. The first season also introduced to us seven girls, Nancy, Blair, Sue Ann, Cindy, Molly, Natalie and Tootie. At the beginning of the second season, the cast was trimmed down to Mrs. Garrett and four primary girls, Blair, Tootie, Natalie and a new girl, Jo. These four girls would remain until the end of the series with Mrs. Garrett re-marrying and leaving in 1986 and Cloris Leachman coming in to play Mrs. Garrett's sister, Beve

Genre: Comedy

  • Watch The Facts of Life Season 3

    • Episode 24

      Read No Evil

      aired: Wed, May 5, 1982

      The Eastland school becomes embroiled in the issue of book banning when the school board "reevaluates" several classic books from the library.

    • Episode 23

      Jo's Cousin

      aired: Wed, Apr 14, 1982

      Jo's 14?year?old cousin Terry, on the verge of womanhood, asks Jo to help battle her overprotective father and brothers, who refuse to recognize her femininity.

    • Episode 22

      The Academy

      aired: Wed, Mar 31, 1982

      Jo coerces Blair into a date with a "well?connected" military cadet who turns out to be a delinquent from New York City streets, intent on playing taps over her noble reputation.

    • Episode 21

      Mind Your Own Business

      aired: Wed, Mar 24, 1982

      Blair starts a battle over individual rights of privacy when she "innocently" sneaks a peek into Natalie's personal diary.

    • Episode 20

      Kids Can Be Cruel

      aired: Wed, Mar 17, 1982

      Natalie's determination to get even with Blair entangles an innocent victim in her scheme - an "ugly duckling" boy.

    • Episode 19

      New York, New York

      aired: Wed, Mar 3, 1982

      A feud between Jo and Blair is hoped to be calmed by their individual visits home, but instead the trip has all the makings of disaster.

    • Episode 18

      The Runaway

      aired: Wed, Feb 24, 1982

      Tootie goes off to New York City unescorted to meet with friends at a theatre, only to get mixed up with the "cast" of an ugly Broadway "scene."

    • Episode 17

      The Affair

      aired: Wed, Feb 17, 1982

      Natalie is crushed when she catches her father romancing a strange woman.

    • Episode 16

      Four Musketeers

      aired: Wed, Feb 10, 1982

      The decision to continue to live together perplexes the girls when the end of their probation period gives them an opportunity to go their separate ways.

    • Episode 15


      aired: Wed, Feb 3, 1982

      Tootie can't believe her ears when she's "personally" invited to the concert of her biggest idol, rock star Jermaine Jackson, for being his "number one fan."

    • Episode 14

      Marriage Brokers

      aired: Wed, Jan 27, 1982

      Mrs. Garrett and her handsome visitor are more than just friends - and Blair intends to uncover exactly how "meaningful" their relationship really is.

    • Episode 13

      The Americanization Of Miko

      aired: Wed, Jan 20, 1982

      Jo finds herself caught in the middle of an international "conflict" when she befriends a new Japanese student who's eager to become Americanized.

    • Episode 12

      Green-Eyed Monster

      aired: Wed, Jan 13, 1982

      Natalie wants the lead role in the school play and she's not about to let anything or anyone stand in her way - including best friend Tootie.

    • Episode 11


      aired: Wed, Jan 6, 1982

      Blair's decision to donate part of an inheritance from her "noble" grandfather's estate to build a school library uncovers family news she doesn't know how to deal with.

    • Episode 10

      Cousin Geri Returns

      aired: Wed, Dec 30, 1981

      Blair fears that her "inexperienced" cousin Geri is being set up for a crushing romantic fall when she lands the catch of the year, Eastland's attractive French teacher.

    • Episode 9

      Dear Me

      aired: Wed, Dec 23, 1981

      Wild plans for the girls to go on a weekend camp?out with the boys from Bates Academy have young Tootie apprehensive about going along.

    • Episode 8

      From Russia With Love

      aired: Wed, Dec 16, 1981

      Natalie has cooked up plans for a private weekend, until a surprise visit from her over-adoring grandmother threatens to spoil her recipe.

    • Episode 7

      Sweet Sorrow

      aired: Wed, Dec 9, 1981

      A class in simulated marriage teaches Jo some lessons in love when she suddenly finds herself more attracted to her class "beau" than to her longtime boy friend.

    • Episode 6

      Give And Take

      aired: Wed, Nov 25, 1981

      Jo painfully learns the ropes of journalism when her enthusiasm for writing a "hot" news story turns into an opportunity for revenge against her journalism teacher.

    • Episode 5

      Front Page

      aired: Wed, Nov 18, 1981

      Blair's unique kinship with her mother Monica is shattered when Blair inadvertently learns that her mother has a lump in her breast.

    • Episode 4

      4. Baby In The House

      aired: Wed, Nov 11, 1981

      Blair is forced to re?examine her friend's "perfect" life when the ex?Eastland student?turned teenage wife and mother stops by for a visit.

    • Episode 3

      A Baby In The House

      aired: Wed, Nov 4, 1981

      The ugliness of sexual violation rocks the Eastland School when "unlikely" target Natalie is assaulted on her way home from a campus party.

    • Episode 2

      Fear Strikes Back

      aired: Wed, Oct 28, 1981

      The pressures of adolescence become painfully clear to Tootie when older girls Blair, Natalie, and Jo exclude her from their revelry and begin to treat her like a little kid.

    • Episode 1

      Growing Pains

      aired: Mon, Feb 2, 1981

      An unexpected financial disaster befalls Mrs. Garrett and she finds herself on the brink of an emotional breakdown when the girls prove totally insensitive to her personal crisis.

© 2014 blinkx